Arlington Primary Election 2019: What You Need To Know – Arlington, VA Patch

VIRGINIA — It’s time to vote in Arlington. But what’s at stake, who are the candidates, and what info do you need before heading to the polls? We lay it all out for you below.

Virginia voters will head to the polls on Tuesday, June 11, for primary elections determining which state legislature and local candidates advance to the Nov. 5 general election. Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday.

To cast a ballot, voters must be registered and present photo identification. To check your voter registration and find your polling place, visit

All Virginia Senate and House of Delegates seats will be up for grabs in the general election, leaving party control hanging in the balance. Republicans control the state House with a 51-49 majority and the state Senate with a 21-19 majority.

In Arlington, voters will choose who will represent the 31st district in the Senate and the 49th district in the House, as well as vote for the candidate who will vy for the statewide office of Commonwealth’s Attorney.

For the Democratic party, incumbent Barbara A. Favola will go up against Nicole Merlene in the Senate, incumbent Alfonso H. Lopez faces Julius D. “JD” Spain, Sr. in the House, and incumbent Theophani K. “Theo” Stamos will try to defeat challenger Parisa Dehghani Tafti.

There is no Republican primary for this district. Click here to view sample ballots.

(Wondering where you need to go to vote? Using the Virginia Department of Elections website, enter your first and last name, date of birth, last four of your social, and then choose “ARLINGTON” from the dropdown list under “Locality.”)

There are few closely-watched primary races for state Senate seats. One of these is the 31st Virginia Senate district showdown, which will happen between incumbent Barbara Favola and Nicole Merlene, an activist hoping to becoming the youngest active state senator in the U.S. This district includes parts of Arlington, Fairfax and Loudoun counties.

Several local races have taken the spotlight in Northern Virginia. In Fairfax County, several candidates are running for the Board of Supervisors chairman. The Democratic candidates are Lee District Supervisor Jeff McKay, real estate developer Tim Chapman, Fairfax County School Board member Ryan McElveen and Georgetown Law professor Alicia Pierhoples. Current Chairman Sharon Bulova is not seeking re-election.

Fairfax County voters will also determine Democratic candidates for Board of Supervisors seats in the Hunter Mill, Lee and Providence districts. The Republican Party will select its candidates for the general election through other means.

Fairfax, Arlington and Prince William counties have multiple candidates for Commonwealth’s Attorneys. Fairfax County’s prosecutor Ray Morrogh faces challenger Steve Descano, and Arlington County’s prosecutor Theo Stamos faces challenger Parisa Dehghani-Tafti. Prince William’s prosecutor Paul Ebert is retiring. Tracey Lenox and Amy Ashworth are running for the Democratic nomination.

Here’s a breakdown of all primary races in Northern Virginia:

Virginia State Senate Races

13th Senate District (Republican primary)

  • Geary M. Higgins
  • Ron A. Meyer, Jr.

17th Senate District (Republican primary)

  • Bryce E. Reeves
  • Rich N. Breeden

28th Senate District (Democratic primary)

  • Qasim Rashid
  • Laura A. Sellers

31st Senate District (Democratic primary)

  • Nicole K. Merlene
  • Barbara A. Favola

33rd Senate District (Democratic primary)

  • Jennifer B. Boysko
  • M. Sharafat Hussain

35th Senate District (Democratic primary)

  • Richard L. “Dick” Saslaw
  • Yasmine P. Taeb
  • Karen Elena Torrent

Virginia State House Races

28th House District (Republican primary)

  • Robert M. “Bob” Thomas, Jr.
  • Paul V. Milde III

38th House District (Democratic primary)

  • L. Kaye Kory
  • Andres F. Jimenez

49th House District (Democratic primary)

  • Alfonso H. Lopez
  • Julius D. “JD” Spain, Sr.

50th House District (Democratic primary)

  • Mark D. Wolfe
  • Lee J. Carter

52nd House District (Democratic primary)

  • Luke E. Torian
  • Kevin M. Wade

87th House District (Democratic primary)

  • Suhas Subramanyam
  • Hassan M. Ahmad
  • Akshay Bhamidipati
  • Johanna L. Gusman

88th House District (Democratic primary)

  • Jessica H. “Jess” Foster
  • Kecia S. Evans

Local races

City of Alexandria, Clerk of Court (Democratic primary)

  • J. Greg Parks
  • Ben Ortiz Jr.

Arlington County, City of Falls Church, Commonwealth’s Attorney (Democratic primary)

  • Theophani K. “Theo” Stamos
  • Parisa Dehghani-Tafti

Fairfax County, Chair, Board of Supervisors (Democratic primary)

  • Ryan L. McElveen
  • Timothy M. Chapman
  • Jeffrey C. McKay
  • Alicia E. Plerhoples

Fairfax County, Member, Board of Supervisors, Braddock District (Democratic primary)

  • James R. Walkinshaw
  • Irma M. Corado

Fairfax County, Member, Board of Supervisors, Hunter Mill District (Democratic primary)

  • Walter L. Alcorn
  • Laurie T. Dodd
  • Shyamali Roy Hauth
  • Maggie D. Parker
  • Parker K. Messick

Fairfax County, Member, Board of Supervisors, Lee District (Democratic primary)

  • Larysa M. Kautz
  • Rodney L. Lusk
  • James T. Migliaccio
  • Kelly M. P. Hebron

Fairfax County, Member, Board of Supervisors, Providence District (Democratic primary)

  • Edythe Frankel Kelleher
  • Dalia A. Palchik
  • Phil A. Niedzielski-Eichner
  • Erika Milena Yalowitz
  • Linh D. Hoang

Fairfax County, Commonwealth’s Attorney (Democratic primary)

  • Raymond F. Morrogh
  • Steve T. Descano

Loudoun County, Sheriff (Democratic primary)

  • Chris R. Harmison
  • Justin P. Hannah

Loudoun County, Member, Board of Supervisors, Sterling District (Democratic primary)

  • Ibrahim A. Moiz
  • Koran T. Saines

Prince William County, Member, Board of Supervisors, Coles District (Democratic primary)

  • Raheel A. Sheikh
  • Latonsha D. “LT” Pridgen

Prince William County, Member, Board of Supervisors, Neabsco District (Democratic primary)

  • Victor S. Angry
  • Aracely Panameno

Prince William County, Member, Board of Supervisors, Occoquan District (Democratic primary)

  • Kenny Allen Boddye
  • Aaron C. “A.C.E.” Edmond

Prince William County, Member, Board of Supervisors, Woodbridge District (Democratic primary)

  • Margaret Angela Franklin
  • Frank J. Principi

Prince William County, Commonwealth’s Attorney (Democratic primary)

  • Tracey A. Lenox
  • Amy K. Ashworth

Prince William County, Sheriff (Democratic primary)

  • Joshua Lavon King
  • Brian K. Fields

Additional reporting by Emily Leayman/Patch

“Disclaimer – This story is not been edited by ViralAssam Staff and is auto-generated from syndicated feed”

Like it? Share with your friends!

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win
Choose A Format
Personality quiz
Series of questions that intends to reveal something about the personality
Trivia quiz
Series of questions with right and wrong answers that intends to check knowledge
Voting to make decisions or determine opinions
Formatted Text with Embeds and Visuals
The Classic Internet Listicles
The Classic Internet Countdowns
Open List
Submit your own item and vote up for the best submission
Ranked List
Upvote or downvote to decide the best list item
Upload your own images to make custom memes
Youtube, Vimeo or Vine Embeds
Soundcloud or Mixcloud Embeds
Photo or GIF
GIF format